French Switzerland, Suisse Romande

French Switzerland, or the "Suisse Romande" as it is also called, includes the cantons of Geneva, Vaud, and Fribourg, as well as the Valais and Neuchatel. In other words any canton where French is spoken. Geneva, -- city of Calvin and the Reformation, of the International Red Cross and of the League of Nations, -- and Lausanne, -- the modern and flourishing capital of the canton of Vaud -are its principal cities. Fribourg, a lovely medieval town in the midst of a rich far. ming country is one of the important Catholic centers of Europe. And it is in the canton of Fribourg where Switzerland's most famous chocolate is made.

No comments: